Indonesian envoy appointed as Chair of ASEAN Committee in the US

3 min read
indonesian envoy appointed as chair of asean committee in the us

Rosan Perkasa Roeslani, the Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia to the United States, has been appointed as Chairman of the ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) Committee in Washington D.C, the capital of the United States of America.

The Indonesian Ambassador to the United States said in a statement, “I received the leadership baton as Chairman of the ASEAN Committee in Washington D.C. (ACW) from the Cambodian Ambassador to the United States Keo Chhea.”

Reportedly, Rosan Perkasa Roeslani was appointed as the Chairman of the ASEAN Committee in Washington D.C. on Wednesday. Roeslani confirmed his appointment in a statement in Jakarta, Indonesia, on Friday.

Rosan Perkasa Roeslani, who is currently Vice Minister of State Owned Enterprises in Indonesia, expressed happiness over his appointment as the chairman of the ASEAN Committee. The minister reportedly said that he would continue the legacy and programs prepared by the earlier leaders to boost the involvement of the ASEAN community in the field of investment and trade with the United States. 

The Indonesian diplomat and businessman also said, “I am grateful to receive this mandate, assignment, and trust.” He pledged to boost the involvement of the ASEAN community with the government of the US, congress, the academic sector, the public sector and the private sector. 

Keep Reading

The Republic of Indonesia currently holds the ASEAN chairmanship for 2023 under the theme of ASEAN Matters: Epicentrum of Growth.

Joko Widodo, the President of the Republic of Indonesia, will chair the 43rd ASEAN Summit at Jakarta Convention Center in Jakarta from 5 September to 7 September. He will also chair twelve other meetings during the summit. Indonesia is also the country coordinator for the ASEAN-United States partnership.

ASEAN member countries are the Republic of Indonesia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Load More By Noto
Load More In ASEAN News
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

Thailand Welcomes Chinese Tourists with Visa Waiver: Here’s Why

In a strategic move to revive its tourism sector, Thailand has announced a temporary visa …