Six candidates will compete for three veep positions in the MIC

4 min read

MalaysiaMalaysia – After winning the MIC deputy presidency unchallenged in the party elections, Datuk Seri M. Saravanan has been re-elected for the 2021-2024 term.

Saravanan emerged as the lone contender for the position after nominations ended at 5 p.m., according to MIC president Tan Sri SA Vigneswaran.

Nominations for the deputy president, three vice presidents, and 21 central working committee (CWC) and state committee positions were held at the MIC headquarters from 2pm to 5pm.

Saravanan, who is also the Human Resources Minister, told reporters that one of his main priorities will be to empower the Indian-based party and prepare it for the 15th general election (GE15).

“Since joining the MIC in 1988, this is my first unchallenged victory in a party election.” He described it as “party recognition.”

Saravanan, a Tapah MP, was elected MIC deputy president after beating previous Perak MIC chairman Tan Sri M Ramasamy in the 2018 party election.

Related Posts

Moreover, in this year’s election, six candidates will compete for three vice-president positions: Datuk T. Mohan, Datuk C. Sivaraajh, and Datuk T. Murugiah; MIC secretary-general Datuk M. Asojan; executive secretary A.K. Datuk V. Gunalan, Ramalingam’s party’s information leader.

Former deputy education minister Datuk P. Kamalanathan, former party secretary Datuk Sakthivel Alagapan, former youth head Thinalan Rajagopal, and Datuk N. Muneandy are among the 60 people who have applied for the 21 CWC positions.

On November 26, a total of 24,000 committee members from nearly 4,000 branches around the country will vote for the party’s national leadership.

Vigneswaran defended his MIC chairmanship on May 26 after running unopposed for the position.

On October 30, Tenggaroh assemblyman K. was elected to the party’s wing elections. Raven Kumar was elected unopposed as the party’s youth chief, while Datuk Mohana Muniandy defeated opponent J. Nandhini, Usha

Putera and Puteri youth movement leaders A. Kishva and R. Puvaneswary was also elected.

Load More By Katherine S
Load More In Malaysia
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Check Also

Is Balenciaga promoting Child Pornography?

Even though Balenciaga has quit Twitter, the site’s users continue to analyze the lu…